Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: before
(393 results)



Display: 20

    • "The House on the Rock"

    •  
    • The structure in the foreground, sometimes referred to as the 'Stone Jug,' was the first dormitory on campus. An article in a February 1897 issue of the St. Stephen's Messenger notes the following: "In this house lived the few students, who at...
    • "Zabriskie's Waterfalls"

    • Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College
    • In this image taken in the summer of 1945, the Zabriskie family still owned Blithewood and much of the land adjoining Bard College. As evidenced by this image labelled 'Zabrisky's (sic) Falls', a good deal of student trespassing transpired before...
    • '76 House

    • Buildings; Historic buildings; Taverns (Inns); Bricks;
    • Black and white photograph showing the '76 House, Tappan, NY. This photograph was taken about before the building was restored.
    • 112 Sickles Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Porches; Dormers; Leaded glass windows;
    • This small Victorian residence was built before 1900, making it one of the oldest on Sickles Avenue. The leaded windows are an element repeated on all three florrs, even in the attic dormer. The house was occupied by the Mooney family for nearly...
    • 117 North Broadway, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Mansard roofs; Cupolas; Porches;
    • This house at 117 North Broadway has been beautifully restored. It was built before 1884 and can be found on the Burleigh map, "Nyack on the Hudson." The mansard roof, the cupola, the double brackets, and the tiny windows in the eaves have been...
    • 118 Grand Street, Newburgh, NY

    • Houses; Architecture
    • Where a municipal parking lot now stands, was a row of early 19th century frame row houses like this one, the 1917 home of the Davis Family. Benjamin Davis was a salesman for a wholesale grocery warehouse down the hill on South Water Street. From...
    • 119 Cedar Hill Avenue, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Mansard roofs;
    • This mansard-roofed Victorian is relatively unadorned and seems largely unchanged, even though it was built before 1884 and can be located on the Burleigh map, "Nyack on the Hudson." The slate tile mansard roof has a flower design between the two...
    • 124 North Broadway

    • Houses; Architectural decorations & ornaments; Porches;
    • This moderately-sized house has several unique features: round upper windows, a cut-out semi-circular bargeboard, and a cut-out upper balustrade. The first occupant in the 1850s was nurseryman John P. Taylor, and later it was owned and occupied by...
    • 127 Piermont Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • The simplicity of this nineteenth century Nyack house - the roof, the window and door frames, and the siding - is reflective of the time when it was built, before the Victorian period.
    • 14 DePew Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • William H. White built this house on DePew Avenue before 1850. His history, and that of several other owners of the house is reported in Nieweg and Reimann's "Survey of Historic Buildings Village of Nyack 1988-89," p. 97. Like owners of the other...
    • 143 Main Street, Nyack, NY

    • Buildings; Grocers;
    • This three-story brick building was built in 1877 by William Randolph. It was originally a large grocery store. The art deco addition filled in the large, wrap-around veranda. Before Homer Lydecker opened a real estate/insurance business, the men's...
    • 144 North Broadway, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • This tidy dwelling has had few changes over the years. It was built before 1884 and can be found on the Burleigh map, "Nyack on the Hudson." On the left is a one-story portion that was added later. The brick church, once the First Baptist Church,...
    • 16 DePew Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • The Henry Gesner Jr. House, a modest two-story building, has a unique verge board at the gable end. Gesner built the house before 1850 on land his father bought from Peter DePew. Henry was a ship's carpenter and was living here with his wife,...
    • 18 Castle Heights Avenue, Upper Nyack, NY

    • Porte cocheres; Houses; Chimneys; Balconies;
    • In the late 1800s there was a large brick house at 18 Castle Heights Avenue. Before its Victorian remodeling, this house was of Federal design, a style popular in the early 19th Century during the time that John Van Houten and his son-in-law, Tunis...
    • 1850 Map of Ulster

    • Ulster County (N. Y.) - Maps; Real Property - New York (State) - Ulster County
    • The present Village of Saugerties was originally incorporated in 1831 as the Village of Ulster. This map is from 1850 before the name change to Saugerties in 1855. A penciled note; "(74734) [1850?]"; on the map face near the bottom right indicates...
    • 1862-11-08 letter from James Thitchener to his friend Phill

    • United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865; United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Correspondence;
    • James writes to his friend Phil about the difficulties of army life. He has been marching for three weeks straight though serious weather conditions. One night the troops had to camp right down in the snow. He mentions that there are strong Union...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK