Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • : village
(5116 results)



Display: 20

    • John Bard, 1893

    •  
    • Shown here at age 74, John Bard was a member of a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York City and from...
    • Rev. James Starr Clark

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Photographed here as a distinguished older man, James Starr Clark was a pivotal figure in the 19th century history of Tivoli. Arriving at Annandale in the early 1850's as a tutor to the Bard children, he lived with the family for two years, during...
    • Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • Despite the title of the postcard, this building was never home to John Watts De Peyster, who lived at Rose Hill in Tivoli. Originally built under the direction of James Starr Clark with funds provided by John and Margaret Bard, this school had...
    • John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Posing here as a young man, John Bard was born in 1819 to a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York...
    • James Starr Clark

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Pictured here as a young man, James Starr Clark came to Annandale in the 1850's as a tutor to the Bard children. He lived with the family for two years, during which time he developed a close, trusting relationship with the family. Hard working...
    • Elting's Store

    • Village communities
    • Caption attached to postcard reads: "Built in 1846 by Erastus Kimball as a store, this building was changed in 1856 to a hotel by Edward Lasher. Known as the Morgan House, Potts Hotel, and Morey Hotel. After Patrick Morey's death in 1928, Seymore...
    • Bayly's

    • Drinking establishments; Village communities
    • Back of photo identifies Nicholas Reece, seated at the bar, and a gentleman identified only as 'McNulty', walking.
    • Acorn Store

    • Automobiles; Village communities
    • This photograph depicts the Moore building as the home of 'Choinsky's 'Acorn Store.' The square tower visible in the earlier postcard is gone, and there appears to be a traffic light attached to the exterior of the building. Open awnings lend a...
    • Tivoli Village Board Meeting

    • Village communities
    • Tivoli Village Board Meeting in February, 1972. Back of photograph identifies participants counterclockwise around table from far right as: "Dora Gruntler, Mortimer Appel, Robert Barrett, Herbert Mead, William Herman, and William Bain."
    • A Brief History of Tivoli

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History; Local history--New York (State); Tivoli (N.Y.)--History
    • This pamphlet outlines a brief history of the village of Tivoli, focusing on the buildings, businesses, and townspeople that have comprised it. It should be noted that 'A Brief History of Tivoli' contains significant errors, augmented through time...
    • DePeyster Baseball Team

    • Portraits, group; Baseball; Village communities; Photographs;
    • Caption reads:" DePeyster baseball team which won the Hudson Valley League and Dutchess County championships in 1932. John T. Hoffman was the owner and Oakley Cunningham was the manager."
    • Map of the Town of Red Hook, 1815

    • Red Hook (N.Y. : Town)--Maps
    • Reproduction of a map originally dated December 8, 1815 of the town of Red Hook, including what is now Tivoli and Annandale. The map's creator, John Cox Junior was Rhinebeck's town supervisor from 1808-1818. The map's inscription indicates that...
    • "Vic" the Butcher

    • Butchers
    • "Victor Salladin", verso of photograph. Long time residents still remember Vic's Village Variety as a place to buy fresh meats, breads, and general grocery items, and Vic himself as a warm proprietor never too busy to show kindess to children. ...
    • Tivoli Station

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History; Village communities; Horse-drawn vehicles;
    • Back of photo reads: "Uncle Elliott in front of Telegraph on the South side of Tivoli Station." This may have been an uncle or great-uncle of Joan Navins, Tivoli Village Historian in the 1970s.
    • Fireman's Hall

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History;
    • An image of the original firehouse, that now houses village offices, the Tivoli Free Library, and exhibit and meeting spaces.
    • Rhinebeck Post Office: Incidents Connected with "Ferncliff"

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Local history--New York (State); Village communities; Mary Powell (Ship)
    • "Incidents connected with "Ferncliff." It was bought by William Astor in 1858, the present house being built in 1860 from plans by Griffith Thomas. The grounds were laid out by Charles Augustus Ehlers and his son Louis, who is seen above the bridge...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural: 1780's Cornshucking Bee

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Local history--New York (State); Village communities
    • ". . . The boy who has found a red ear kisses the girl who brings the cider." ("Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office") Notice Dows's inclusion of a black slave laborer in lower right corner. Slavery officially persisted in New York State until 1799....
    • View of Rhinebeck Post Office Lobby

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--History; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Local history--New York (State); Art--Reproduction; Local history--New York (State); Village communities
    • View of Rhinebeck Post Office mural (created 1940). Mural commissioned for Rhinebeck, NY post office by WPA Section of Fine Arts Art in Public Buildings Program, photographed by C.B. Ross and Edward Campeau.
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural: Landsman's Kill, 1730

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Village communities; Local history--New York (State);
    • "Mill and swimming hole on Landsman's Kill, a free interpretation of the present Van Steenburgh site, first Morgan Lewis' mill. The oldest mill was built in 1710 by William Traphagen for Henry Beekman where the Kill runs into Vandenburgh Cove. The...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK