Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Format: on 18
(135 results)



Display: 20

    • Tivoli Village Board Meeting

    • Village communities
    • Tivoli Village Board Meeting in February, 1972. Back of photograph identifies participants counterclockwise around table from far right as: "Dora Gruntler, Mortimer Appel, Robert Barrett, Herbert Mead, William Herman, and William Bain."
    • Samuel Bard to Dr. John Bard, November 28, 1761

    • Manuscripts; United States--History--French and Indian War, 1755-1763
    • This letter was written by nineteen year old Samuel to his father Dr. John Bard. Samuel's ship was captured by the French as he sailed to England to pursue his medical education. Kept as a prisoner of war in the south of France, Samuel later...
    • William Bard Letter to his Great-Aunt, 1790

    • Manuscripts; Bard family
    • This letter was written by William Bard, father of St. Stephen's founder John Bard, to his Great-Aunt, Mary Martha Campbell. In a note appended by Arthur Sands, he mentions that William was born in New York during its occupation by the British. At...
    • Group photo of the members of the Student Fire Department

    • Fire departments; College students--New York (State)
    • Members of the Department pose for a photo. That year, they were led by Walter Kaufman, Chief; Emmett O'Brien, Jr. '53, 1st Assistant Chief; and John E. Jolliffe '52, 2nd Assistant Chief. Originally founded by George Blackstone in 1942, the...
    • Blithewood North Lawn

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This photograph of the north lawn of Blithewood was probably taken soon after Bard College acquired the estate in November of 1951. At that time, and on the death of his mother, Christian Zabriskie donated (in exchange for $1) the property to...
    • Blithewood exterior

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This view of Blithewood from the southeast depicts the expanse of the building. After acquiring the property from Christian Zabriskie in 1951, Bard renamed the house 'Zabriskie Hall,' and used it primarily as a conference center until it was...
    • Entering the Blithewood Garden

    • Gardens;
    • Commissioned by Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Zabriskie in 1903, the firm of Hoppin and Koen created plans for the formal garden at Blithewood. In this picture, spring flowers are visible, and the Robert Bassler ('57) sculpture "Seclusion" graces the center...
    • Entrance to Blithewood

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College; Architecture, Georgian--New York (State);
    • Designed by Hoppin & Koen, Blithewood was built for Mr. and Mrs. Andrew C. Zabriskie, and completed ca. 1901. Their son, Christian Andrew Zabriskie, transferred the Blithewood Estate to Bard College in 1951 for one dollar.
    • St. Stephens Class of 1896

    • St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); College graduates; Portraits; Photographs; College students--New York (State); Bard College--History;
    • This is a framed photograph of five of the 1896 St. Stephen's graduates. As noted on the back of the frame, the photographs were printed by Reverend Albert Larrieu Longley and later framed and mounted by A. Rose on June 14th, 1916. The names of the...
    • St. Stephen's men, 1875

    • College students--New York (State); St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.);
    • Eight students of St.Stephen's college sit outside of Stone Row wearing suits, bowties, and top hats. Pencilled in, an arrow points to a student, labeled "Nelson Lewis 1875." In addition to Lewis, the 1914 alumni directory indicates that the...
    • Map of the Village of East Chester

    • Maps; Measured drawings;
    • Map of the Village of East Chester. Filed Oct 11, 1841. After the Erie Railroad came throught this section was know as "Chester at the Depot" for a time. Now known as Downtown Chester. Most of the depot grounds became G.M. Roe Lumber & Coal yard...
    • Erie Station & vicinity prior to 1915

    • Cityscapes; Railroad stations; Railroad sidings; Photographs
    • Note milk cans at station, kerosene street lamps, no car tracks in snow, lack of snow removal, no trees along tracks, telegraph & telephone wires only - no electric. This photograph was probably taken from the RR Signal Tower.
    • Thompson's Drug Store

    • Photographs; Group portraits; Drugstores;
    • Interior photograph of Thompson's Drug Store, located: Lower Main Street, Village of Chester. Shown are: Theadore A. J. Miller (in cap), Charlie Thompson (behind counter). Thompson's Store later became Clem & Daisy's general dry goods store. In...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK