Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • : Newburgh Postcards
(20 results)



Display: 20

    • Armory, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This is a hand colored postcard featuring a photograph of the Newburgh Armory which is located at 145 Broadway in the city of Newburgh, N.Y. The postmark is Oct. 7, 1914. It is addressed to Mrs. Orvetta Sears, Mountainville, Orange Co., N.Y. ...
    • Balmville Tree, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works
    • This is a hand colored postcard picturing the Balmville Tree, the oldest Eastern Cottonwood on record in the United States. A core sample taken by Harvard University in 1953 indicated that it started growing in 1699. It is situated at the...
    • Lake at Downing Park, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works
    • This hand colored postcard shows three women seated by a lake in Downing Park which is located in the heart of the City of Newburgh. Opened in 1897, the park was named after Newburgh native Andrew Jackson Downing, pioneer of the public park...
    • Public Library, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • The Newburgh Free Library building pictured on this postcard was built in 1876 in high Victorian style and located at 100 Grand Street in the city of Newburgh. It was built for $28,000 to serve the Enlarged City School District. Librarian Charles...
    • Observatory at Downing Park, Newburgh

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard features the observatory building which stood in Downing Park in Newburgh, N.Y. The building was designed by Downing Vaux, son of Calvert Vaux who, with Frederick Law Olmsted, designed the park. The observatory rested on the highest...
    • Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)--Pictorial Works; Streets--New York (State)--Orange County;
    • This postcard features a view down Broadway towards the Hudson River to the east. It shows part of the business district.
    • The Columbus Trust Company, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard is a hand colored photograph of the Columbus Trust bank building situated at 76 Broadway at the corner of Grand Street in Newburgh, N.Y. The bank was established in January, 1893. It was acquired by Key Bank in 1984.
    • Tower of Victory, Newburgh

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • Erected in 1887 for the centennial of the end of the Revolution, the Tower of Victory stands on the site where Washington refused to serve as monarch near Washington's Headquarters in Newburgh, N.Y. Inside is a statue of Washington by William...
    • The Courthouse at Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard features the 1841 Courthouse designed by Thornton Niven located at 123 Grand Street in the city of Newburgh, N.Y. Newburgh citizens raised money to acquire the land, which was City Park. Orange County Courts operated in the...
    • View of Grand Street, Newburgh

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard shows a view of Grand Street in the city of Newburgh, N.Y., facing south. In view is the Palatine Hotel, which opened on July 6, 1893 with the steeple of St. Patricks in the distance. The many theaters in Newburgh attracted New...
    • Hudson River Excursion Steamer, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard shows a Hudson River Day Line steamer docked on the Hudson River. The reverse side includes the following description: "Newburgh is a popular stopping point for one-day excursions of the Hudson River steamers. It is impossible for...
    • Penny Arcade, Orange Lake, Newburgh

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard features five men standing in front of a building with a sign that says "Penny Arcade." An article from the Newburgh Evening Union of June 1, 1909, entitled "Orange Lake As Ye Scribe Saw It," includes the following description of...
    • St. Lukes Hospital, Newburgh

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • St. Lukes Home and Hospital opened on May 4, 1875 in a house known as Mr. Baldwin's cottage, located at the corner of Dubois and Third Streets in Newburgh, N.Y. At that time, the facility had a three-bed capacity. That year there were 33...
    • Vale of Avoca, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This colored postcard features the image of The Vale of Avoca, an area where the Quassaick Creek empties into the Hudson River. It was a popular walking and picnicking glade. The name most likely derives from a river valley of that name in...
    • View of Newburgh on the Hudson

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard features a view of the Newburgh on the Hudson River. The railroad station and railway cars are visible. A river steamboat is moored at the dock.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK