Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: torn
(79 results)



Display: 20

    • China Doll Head

    • China dolls
    • This doll head was found ca. 1975 behind the site of the former Trinity School and Home, later called the Watts de Peyster Home for Girls. During the early decades of the 20th century it was customary for villagers to dump trash along the banks of...
    • Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • Despite the title of the postcard, this building was never home to John Watts De Peyster, who lived at Rose Hill in Tivoli. Originally built under the direction of James Starr Clark with funds provided by John and Margaret Bard, this school had...
    • Driving down Friendship St.

    • Automobiles
    • Typed caption attached to photo reads: "This picture was taken in 1928 coming down Friendship from [sic] the old Tivoli post office. The buildings in the picture on the left were the "Farmers Hotel" and the horse sheds, both were torn down to make...
    • "At Annandale, Christmas Eve 1888"

    • Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • This image is the only known photograph of the interior of the Bard Home. Taken after Margaret Bard's death, the house was not regularly occupied by John Bard and his second wife Annie Belcher at this time. The room appears to be well appointed and...
    • "The House on the Rock"

    •  
    • The structure in the foreground, sometimes referred to as the 'Stone Jug,' was the first dormitory on campus. An article in a February 1897 issue of the St. Stephen's Messenger notes the following: "In this house lived the few students, who at...
    • Dwelling Units

    • Photographs; College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • Built in 1946 with Federal Housing Project Funds, they served as dormitories, faculty and student apartments, and painting studios. They have since been torn down.
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Sturgeon Fishing on the Hudson, 1870

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y. : Town)--History--Pictorial works; Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc;
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural Panel 15. "1870-- William Meier (head of Hyde Park's caviar industry) pulls up an oversized sturgeon helped by Abe Atkins [an African American veteran who had fought in the Civil War as a member of Co. G of the 20th...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. Some Rhinebeck Buildings

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Local history--New York (State)
    • Sixth Panel over Window in Rhinebeck Post Office. From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" "Some outstanding Rhinebeck buildings--Foreground from left to right:--The School, designed and built in 1869 by Peter M. Fulton, burned in 1939; The...
    • Salvaged Ludowici Roof Tile

    • Railroad stations; Roofing tiles;
    • An original Ludowici "Imperial" roof tile salvaged from Station roof during the 1991 restoration of Chester's 1915 Erie Railroad Station.

      It bears the following marks: 1-1-15; Ludowici Celadon Co., Chicago; Imperial Tile. This style is...
    • Bethlehem Church video

    • Churches; Church schools
    • This video has pictures of some past and present members of the Bethlehem Presbyterian Church which is located at the corner of Route 94 and Jackson Avenue in the town of Cornwall, New York. (The highway was originally called Route 45.) Then the...
    • Season's greetings in 1960

    • Documents; Cards; Greeting cards;
    • Half of the holiday card sent in 1960 by the college. The left edge indicates where the card was torn, implying that it opened on the right edge with a greeting inside. All that remains is the front of the card at this time.
    • Race Track, Cairo, New York

    • Postcards; Racetracks (Horse racing); Fairs;
    • Races (sulkies) were held at the track in the Village of Cairo until the 1950's. For many years, the track was also the site of the Cairo Fair, sponsored by the Greene County Agricultural Society. The fair ran until 1936. The grandstand and judges'...
    • Demolition of Peck Mansion

    • Buildings; Ruins; Demolition; Hoisting machinery; People; Men; Columns;
    • Black and white photograph showing the demolition of Peck Mansion (Samsondale). Visable in the image are two workers, a demolition crane, and the side of the mansion. The rear of the mansion is completly torn down.
    • Clearing debris from the Dexter Folder factory

    • Employees; Demolition; Debris; Factories; Machinery;
    • This photograph is of the destruction of the old erection shop of the Dexter Folder Company. Several men are moving around a mostly torn down building. There are several men moving debris around on an upper level of a gutted building. There are...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK