Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: subsequently
(19 results)



Display: 20

    • John Bard, 1893

    •  
    • Shown here at age 74, John Bard was a member of a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York City and from...
    • Margaret Johnston Bard

    •  
    • Margaret Johnston Bard poses for a formal portrait, wearing a long velvet dress. Though few of her personal papers remain, Margaret Bard was known for her intelligence and religious devotion. Her family fortune brought wealth to John Bard through...
    • John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Posing here as a young man, John Bard was born in 1819 to a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York...
    • Hotel Morey

    • Hotels
    • Caption attached to photo reads: "The Madalin House was built in 1839, burned in 1909, and was rebuilt as the Morey Hotel. The small building next on the left housed a shoe repair and Moore's barbershop. In the 1970s Larry Broadmoore Esq. had a...
    • "Homestead" Girls' Camp

    • Local history--New York (State); Tivoli (N.Y.)--History
    • Shown here as the girls dormitory known as "The Homestead", this house was later purchased and renovated by Saul Bellow. The house was subsequently purchased by Bard College for faculty housing (during which time it was known as "Bellows' House"),...
    • Blithewood North Lawn

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This photograph of the north lawn of Blithewood was probably taken soon after Bard College acquired the estate in November of 1951. At that time, and on the death of his mother, Christian Zabriskie donated (in exchange for $1) the property to...
    • "Seclusion"

    • Sculpture, American--20th century;
    • This photograph of a sculpture entitled "Seclusion" was taken by the artist, Robert Bassler, class of 1957, shortly after her installation in the fountain at Blithewood garden. The sculpture was created as part of his senior project, and at the...
    • Old Parsonage Historical marker

    • Photographs; Historical markers; Religious dwellings;
    • The Old Parsonage historical marker with house in background. For almost a century the Clarkstown Reformed Church shared the services of its pastor with the church at Tappan. In 1834 a full-time pastor was called and this building and a site...
    • Unit 02-Fighting Segregation and Championing Equal Rights

    • Discrimination; Race discrimination; ethnic groups; race relations; Busing (School integration); education; Racism; Civil rights; Civil rights demonstrations; Civil service reform; Social civic facilities;
    • She notes that the Board decided to desegregate the school on a voluntary basis. During her second term on the Board of Education, the first black principal was voted into the position of Principal of New Rochelle High School. In between her...
    • Indenture - Glebe Lands - January 1795

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)--History--18th Century
    • This is an Indenture for lease of land in the Newburgh Glebe between Timothy Hudson and Phineas Howell, Trustees of the Parish of Newburgh, and Abraham Ward, for the price of eight pounds nine shillings. The lease is for Lot No. 10, which is...
    • Military History of the 168th Regiment

    • United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865;
    • This is a history of the 168th Regiment of the New York State Volunteers which was organized at Newburgh, N.Y. under the command of Colonel William R. Brown in the Fall of 1862. The camp was known as Camp Hillhouse and subsequently as Camp...
    • Demolition of the Rockland Female Institute

    • Schools; Ruins;
    • The old Rockland Female Institute building was the Hudson River Military Academy from 1899 to 1907, and then became the Nyack Club and later the River Club. It was gutted by fire in 1932 and subsequently demolished.
    • Upper Nyack School

    • Schools; School children; Teachers; Classrooms;
    • In 1958, a new elementary school was opened in Upper Nyack, replacing the wooden building on School Street that had served the community for many decades. Sitting at their desks are twenty-two smiling third graders. The teacher, Lillian C., stands...
    • Unit 04  Ferd Hopkins  Dwight School Years

    • Commuters;
    • Ferd recounts his life after graduating high school. His father had house on Lexintong Ave., NYC, lived there Nov. - April; after Ferd graduated Dwight school, went to work for father in NYC and built up business; bought building at 430 Lafayett; ...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK