Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: stood
(86 results)



Display: 20

    • J.L. DePeyster Hose Co. No. 1

    • Portraits, group; Fire stations
    • Hose Co. #1, Tivoli's Volunteer Firemen in full dress. They are standing in front of the De Peyster fire station which formerly stood across from St. Sylvia's Church on Broadway.
    • "Flame" at Opus 40

    • Sculpture, American--New York (State); Sculpture, American--20th century
    • Fite's sculpture "Flame" stood at the center of his sculptural landscape prior to Fite's decision to replace this with the enormous uncarved monolith which stands on the site today.
    • "Homestead" Girls' Camp

    • Local history--New York (State); Tivoli (N.Y.)--History
    • Shown here as the girls dormitory known as "The Homestead", this house was later purchased and renovated by Saul Bellow. The house was subsequently purchased by Bard College for faculty housing (during which time it was known as "Bellows' House"),...
    • Mr. Matthews on trumpet with "Bronco" Charlie Miller

    • Photographs
    • William Henry Matthews plays the trumpet, center, while "Bronco" Charlie Miller listens, at left. Bungalow Hill. William Matthews' scrapbook notes: "Bronco Charley Miller's "saga of the saddle" began in the 1860s when he began riding the Pony...
    • Gahagan House in its original place

    • Photographs; College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This photograph depicts Gahagan House where it originally stood, now known as the Kline Commons terrace. It presently stands north of the Blithewood Gate House.
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Quarrel over "Hyde Park Hotel"

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.--Pictorial works; Village communities;
    • Panel 2 of Hyde Park Post Office Mural. From "Murals in the Hyde Park, New York Post Office": "Before 1812. Irate Dr. Samuel Bard tries vainly to persuade Innkeeper Jabez Miller to change the name on his sign board from "Hyde Park" to almost...
    • Big Indian, N. Y. Looking East from R. R. Station

    • Postcards; Roads; Railroad crossings; Barns;
    • Color image of road crossing railroad tracks. A red barn with green roof surrounded by trees. White buildings with various color roofs in the background. Picture was taken from R. R. station of Ulster Delaware Tracks. Directly across the R. R. and...
    • Mt. Beacon Incline Railway, Fishkill Landing, N.Y.

    • Postcards; Railroad tracks; Railroads; Mountains; Railroad stations;
    • Beacon Mountain, sometimes Mount Beacon, is the highest peak of the Hudson Highlands, is just east of Beacon, New York, in the Town of Fishkill. The beauties of the countryside gave birth to a dream, and in 1900 with the aid of local business men,...
    • Concert poster

    • Posters; Programs; Concerts; Advertisements; Performances;
    • A poster advertising a concert of vocal & instrumental music, for the benefit of District School No. 7, Orangetown, given at the M. E. Church, Middletown, September 30, 1871. The concert was held at the Methodist Episcopal Church which stood on...
    • Letter L Rock

    • Photographs; Rocks
    • A hat sitting on a large rock. The Letter L. Rock stood until the 1950s south of Oak Tree Road with "L" engraved in it. It was destroyed when the Palisades Parkway came through.
    • Photographs of a painting by Hill

    • Photographs; Historic buildings; Brickwork; Paintings
    • This is supposed to be a Revolutionary War relic that stood into this century in West Nyack. Oil painting by John William Hill. Possibly an old brick oven that stood near Clarksville, reputed to used by Washington's troops.
    • Livery Stable and the Rockland Hotel

    • Photographs; Clippings; Stables; City & town life;
    • Two photographs, clipped from a newspaper. The top photograph is of the livery stable on Orange Avenue, before 1900. The text under the photograph reads: This livery stable stood on Orange Avenue, Suffern, next to the Eureka House and was run by...
    • Strong's TV Store

    • Photographs; Stores & shops;
    • Strong TV Store on Kings Highway. This building was the first automobile garage and service station, it was owned by Jimmy and Fred Brooks. The Brooks also provided the local taxi service, using Winton Touring cars. A hand crank gasoline pump...
    • Observatory at Downing Park, Newburgh

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This postcard features the observatory building which stood in Downing Park in Newburgh, N.Y. The building was designed by Downing Vaux, son of Calvert Vaux who, with Frederick Law Olmsted, designed the park. The observatory rested on the highest...
    • Antique Car Beside Overlook Academy

    • Schools; Automobiles;
    • Overlook Academy, once Bannister's Rockland College, stood west of Route 9W at head of Sickles Avenue. The building burned to the ground in 1914. Deep snow prevented saving it. The antique car was perhaps a Stanley Steamer.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK