Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: renovated
(49 results)



Display: 20

    • Trinity Church, Tivoli. Chapel and schoolrooms

    • Church buildings; School buildings
    • Trinity Church and School was built with money provided by John and Margaret Bard under the direction and guidance of James Starr Clark. School rooms were located on the ground floor with the church above. In this early, undated photo, the size...
    • The New Madalin House

    •  
    • Exterior of the New Madalin House. The original building burned during the week of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration in 1909. Caption attached to postcard reads: "This hotel was built in 1910 by Harry Hoffman, brother of John and Theodore. In 1915...
    • Hotel Morey

    • Hotels
    • Caption attached to photo reads: "The Madalin House was built in 1839, burned in 1909, and was rebuilt as the Morey Hotel. The small building next on the left housed a shoe repair and Moore's barbershop. In the 1970s Larry Broadmoore Esq. had a...
    • Tivoli High School

    • Public schools
    • Though the postcard is titled "Tivoli High School", this building actually served children of all grade levels. The Tivoli school merged with the Red Hook School System in 1965 and was later renovated as an apartment building. It is currently...
    • "Homestead" Girls' Camp

    • Local history--New York (State); Tivoli (N.Y.)--History
    • Shown here as the girls dormitory known as "The Homestead", this house was later purchased and renovated by Saul Bellow. The house was subsequently purchased by Bard College for faculty housing (during which time it was known as "Bellows' House"),...
    • Saugerties Light House

    • Rivers--New York (State)--Dutchess Co.; Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History; Fresnel lenses ; Saugerties (N.Y.)
    • An early image of the Saugerties Lighthouse on the Hudson River. Built in 1869, it had fallen into serious disrepair by the 1970s and 1980s. Through the efforts of the Saugerties Lighthouse Conservancy, the structure has been renovated; it is...
    • Blithewood exterior

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This view of Blithewood from the southeast depicts the expanse of the building. After acquiring the property from Christian Zabriskie in 1951, Bard renamed the house 'Zabriskie Hall,' and used it primarily as a conference center until it was...
    • Tappan Library grand opening poster

    • Libraries; Invitations; Posters;
    • This is a color poster announcing the grand opening of the Tappan Library in a renovated old building. The celebration was to be held in the library from 3pm - 6pm on Sunday, January 5th. Included in the poster is a paragraph offering special...
    • Rosewood, 40 Main Street, Poughkeepsie, N.Y.

    • Huguenots;
    • Black and white photograph of a Italianate style house and landscape. The house is located in the center of the photograph and surrounded by tall trees and bushes. In the forefront there is a road, with a stone wall, and an elaborate fence and...
    • The Hand Family

    • Families; Dogs;
    • The William H. Hand Family is at home, 122 Franklin Street, Nyack. In 1883, this William Hand, a successful New York City builder and craftsman, bought the Azariah Ross mansion for $9,000 and renovated it. Five family members are seated on a porch....
    • 122 South Franklin Street, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Stone buildings; Mansions;
    • The elegant Ross-Hand mansion was built in 1864 by Azariah Ross. It was later bought and renovated by William Hand. The Hand family lived there until the latter part of the 20th century. William Henry Hand was a colleague of Thomas Edison.The stone...
    • 300 Ellen Street, Upper Nyack,NY

    • Houses; Dormers; Porches;
    • This dwelling, which faces the river in Upper Nyack, has been carefully restored. The details of the porch, dormers, and door reflect its nineteenth century origins. There is an addition at the back. This house was featured in the 2004 tour of...
    • 128 Piermont Avenue, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • This house has been extensively renovated and added to, but the owners have attempted to keep the basic features of the original dwelling. It's located on the west side of Piermont Avenue in South Nyack.
    • 8 First Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Mansard roofs;
    • This small mansard Victorian, on the northwest corner of First Avenue and Gedney Street, was built about 1860 for Edward Burr. Burr was one of Nyack's shoemakers, a part owner of the second shoe-making factory in the village.The house remained in...
    • 23 First Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Porches;
    • This lovingly restored nineteenth century house was featured on the 2004 Blue Rock School tour of renovated houses. Helen L. Powell, the librarian at Nyack Library for about six decades, lived here in 1906.
    • 94 Fifth Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • After a complete restoration and a paint job, 94 Fifth Avenue is a different house. This house was featured on the Blue Rock School tour of renovated houses in 2004.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK