Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: originally
(213 results)



Display: 20

    • Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • Despite the title of the postcard, this building was never home to John Watts De Peyster, who lived at Rose Hill in Tivoli. Originally built under the direction of James Starr Clark with funds provided by John and Margaret Bard, this school had...
    • Moore Block

    •  
    • Exterior of Moore building, corner of Broadway and North Rd., Madalin, NY. Built in 1899, the building originally sported a square tower facing the intersection.
    • Map of the Town of Red Hook, 1815

    • Red Hook (N.Y. : Town)--Maps
    • Reproduction of a map originally dated December 8, 1815 of the town of Red Hook, including what is now Tivoli and Annandale. The map's creator, John Cox Junior was Rhinebeck's town supervisor from 1808-1818. The map's inscription indicates that...
    • Group photo of the members of the Student Fire Department

    • Fire departments; College students--New York (State)
    • Members of the Department pose for a photo. That year, they were led by Walter Kaufman, Chief; Emmett O'Brien, Jr. '53, 1st Assistant Chief; and John E. Jolliffe '52, 2nd Assistant Chief. Originally founded by George Blackstone in 1942, the...
    • Gahagan House in its original place

    • Photographs; College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This photograph depicts Gahagan House where it originally stood, now known as the Kline Commons terrace. It presently stands north of the Blithewood Gate House.
    • Door of Kappa Gamma Chi Memorial Hall

    • Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This image of the door to Kappa House shows a sign that reads, "Kappa Gamma Chi Memorial Hall, Given to Bard College February 16, 1946." The profile of a bald man wearing a suit can be seen raising his hand just inside the door. Kappa House was...
    • Whaleback

    • Photographs; Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.); Automobiles;
    • This building known as the Whaleback has been owned twice by Bard. Early in the 20th century, it was a student dormitory, (see: http://www.hrvh.org/u?/bard,212). In 1965 Bard purchased it for use as faculty apartment housing. Originally, this...
    • Cedar Hill Cottage

    • Photographs; Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.);
    • Emily Olssen Bleeker lived at in Cedar Hill Cottage as a child when her father, the Rev. William Whittingham Olssen taught at St. Stephen's in the late 19th. century. Her recently published memoir 'A New York Lady' includes a passage about living...
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Sturgeon Fishing on the Hudson, 1870

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y. : Town)--History--Pictorial works; Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc;
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural Panel 15. "1870-- William Meier (head of Hyde Park's caviar industry) pulls up an oversized sturgeon helped by Abe Atkins [an African American veteran who had fought in the Civil War as a member of Co. G of the 20th...
    • Erie RR Station Agent's Office

    • Group portraits;photographs;Railroad stations
    • This is the only known photograph of the 1915 Chester Erie Station agent’s office taken while the station was in operation. It was taken in October, 1922 for use in the Erie Magazine. L-r: Robert Marvin, Station Master & John I. Edwards. Items...
    • E. D. Green House

    • Dwellings;photographs
    • Photograph of the E. D. Green House, built 1860 by James Hudson Board. He was descended from Cornelius and James Board, who settled in Chester before the Revolution, and from the Cornelius Board who was one of the early owners of the Durland Store...
    • Board Farm

    • Photographs; Farms;
    • Photograph of Board Farm on West Ave. Jonathan Board, built the house in 1863. Originally, the house was built with an inverted roof system which funneled rain water into a cistern located in the basement. Leaks proved to be a problem and...
    • Dutchess Light, Heat, & Power Company Album, page 19

    • Automobiles; Trucks; Drilling & boring machinery; Private utility companies; Dwellings;
    • 6 photographes (clockwise from top left): utility truck on side of road with man operating rock driller, photo of a house which was replaced by the future Central Hudson building does not originally belong to the page. It shows the north side of...
    • G. & W. R. R. Station, Firthcliffe, N. Y.

    • Postcards; Railroad stations; Railroad tracks; Carriages & coaches; Horses; Roads; Postcards
    • Railroad station built in the 1800s in Cornwall, New York, in the hamlet of Firthcliffe. The railroad station was originally named the "Montana" station. On June 5, 1886, it was re-named "Firthcliffe".
    • Presbyterian Church, Cornwall-On-Hudson, N .Y.

    • Postcards; Churches; Religion;
    • On March 5, 1856, the first structure at 222 Hudson Street, Cornwall-on-Hudson, was completed by Daniel Taft, a renowned builder in the area. Records say the building was capable of seating 350 people. The first congregation of church members had...
    • River Lighthouse, Cornwall-on-Hudson, N. Y.

    • Postcards; Blind persons;
    • The large two-story house was originally part of the land owned by the Sands family. The estate was called "Evergreen" and owned by Clementine Talmadge, a daughter of Catherine Sands Ring. In 1911 the house was owned by Mrs. Emma Hardy who...
    • Emma Hardy Memorial Home

    •  
    • A Victorian style house originally owned by Mrs. Clementine Talmadge, a daughter of Catherine Sands Ring. The Sands-Ring family was among the earliest settlers in Cornwall.
    • Bethlehem Church video

    • Churches; Church schools
    • This video has pictures of some past and present members of the Bethlehem Presbyterian Church which is located at the corner of Route 94 and Jackson Avenue in the town of Cornwall, New York. (The highway was originally called Route 45.) Then the...
    • Aerial view of Dutchess Community College

    • Photographs; Buildings; Landscape photographs; Aerial photographs;
    • Aerial view of Dutchess Community College still showing the old Bowne Tuberculosis Hospital buildings. The center building is Bowne Hall where classes for the students were originally held.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK