Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: now
(640 results)



Display: 20

    • Ward Manor : boys' summer camp

    •  
    • Boy campers sit on the rocks and in the trees of Cruger Island, then the location of the Ward boys' camp and now protected wetland of the Tivoli Bays reserve.
    • The New Madalin House

    •  
    • Exterior of the New Madalin House. The original building burned during the week of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration in 1909. Caption attached to postcard reads: "This hotel was built in 1910 by Harry Hoffman, brother of John and Theodore. In 1915...
    • Dino's

    • General stores; Liquor stores
    • Dino's Department Store and Tivoli Liquor Store storefront on corner of Broadway and Montgomery St.; now Santa Fe Restaurant.
    • Hotel Morey

    • Hotels
    • Caption attached to photo reads: "The Madalin House was built in 1839, burned in 1909, and was rebuilt as the Morey Hotel. The small building next on the left housed a shoe repair and Moore's barbershop. In the 1970s Larry Broadmoore Esq. had a...
    • Tivoli Drug Store

    • Drugstores
    • Tivoli Drug Store prior to its renovation as an artist's studio. The building now houses Broadway Pizza.
    • "Homestead" Girls' Camp

    • Local history--New York (State); Tivoli (N.Y.)--History
    • Shown here as the girls dormitory known as "The Homestead", this house was later purchased and renovated by Saul Bellow. The house was subsequently purchased by Bard College for faculty housing (during which time it was known as "Bellows' House"),...
    • Donna Matthews and Jackie Lotocke

    • Swimming pools
    • Donna Matthews, left, with her childhood friend Jackie Latocke, (now Smith). During this time period, many if not most local children learned to swim in this pool. William Matthews' scrapbook has this description of the pool: "In 1939, a cement...
    • Greybarns Recreation Room

    • Postcards
    • As described in William Matthews' scrapbook: "Greybarns, once the winter quarters of forty head of cattle--now a summer vacation place to fifty girls. They cook and eat down in the basement. They sleep where hay once [was stored].
    • Map of the Town of Red Hook, 1815

    • Red Hook (N.Y. : Town)--Maps
    • Reproduction of a map originally dated December 8, 1815 of the town of Red Hook, including what is now Tivoli and Annandale. The map's creator, John Cox Junior was Rhinebeck's town supervisor from 1808-1818. The map's inscription indicates that...
    • Player Piano Shop

    • Musical instruments
    • The back of this photograph identifies this as : "Inside of Larry's Piano Shop". The image looks considerably older than it is : in the 1970s, Larry Broadmoore repaired and sold player pianos in a small building on Broadway, historically a...
    • "Vic" the Butcher

    • Butchers
    • "Victor Salladin", verso of photograph. Long time residents still remember Vic's Village Variety as a place to buy fresh meats, breads, and general grocery items, and Vic himself as a warm proprietor never too busy to show kindess to children. ...
    • "The House on the Rock"

    •  
    • The structure in the foreground, sometimes referred to as the 'Stone Jug,' was the first dormitory on campus. An article in a February 1897 issue of the St. Stephen's Messenger notes the following: "In this house lived the few students, who at...
    • Gahagan House in its original place

    • Photographs; College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • This photograph depicts Gahagan House where it originally stood, now known as the Kline Commons terrace. It presently stands north of the Blithewood Gate House.
    • Fireman's Hall

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History;
    • An image of the original firehouse, that now houses village offices, the Tivoli Free Library, and exhibit and meeting spaces.
    • St. Stephen's Soccer Team

    • St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); College students--New York (State)
    • The December 7, 1933 issue of the Lyre Tree reported a strong, though not undefeated soccer season for the boys at St. Stephen's: "At the opening of the season, Coach Leeke, in an informal talk to his squad of twenty-five men stressed three...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural: Plowing on the King's Highway, 1740

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Local history--New York (State); Village communities;
    • "A farmer living on the King's Highway stops plowing to chat with the new weekly Post Rider on his way from New York to Albany. Rhinebeck has always been one of the most important stops first on the Indian Trail to Fort Orange (Albany). Later the...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. Scenes from 1716 and 1728

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Palatines--New York (State)
    • Panel 2: 1716. From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" "Sunday before the new First Church, union of Calvinists and Lutherans, at Wey's Crossing, center of the Palatine colony. In 1729 the Lutherans moved to the site of the present Stone...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. Some Rhinebeck Buildings

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Local history--New York (State)
    • Sixth Panel over Window in Rhinebeck Post Office. From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" "Some outstanding Rhinebeck buildings--Foreground from left to right:--The School, designed and built in 1869 by Peter M. Fulton, burned in 1939; The...
    • Sketch for Panel 3, Rhinebeck Post Office

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--History; Local history--New York (State)
    • From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office": Panel 3: "1728. Henry Beekman, 2nd, now forty and a Colonel, receives the midsummer's quit rent on his lawn, while four-year old daughter Margaret looks on. The new Rhinebeck Post Office is copied from...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK