Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: installed
(43 results)



Display: 20

    • William Bard, son of John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Willie Bard stands for a formal portrait. The only son of Margaret Johnston Bard and John Bard, his death in 1868 plunged the family into such grief that removal from Annandale to Europe seemed the only course. A small white stone was installed...
    • Sketch for Panels 1a-c, Rhinebeck Post Office Mural

    • Half Moon (Ship); Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--History; Palatines--New York (State); Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town), Local history--New York (State); Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--History;
    • From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" Panel 1(a): Some time between September 12 and 20 Henry Hudson's "Half Moon" may have anchored near Rhinecliff. A sailor chopping a tree is watched by Indians" who have burned a tree around its base....
    • Sketch for Rhinebeck Post Office Mural

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Village communities; Local history--New York (State)
    • Scene from history of Rhinebeck ca. 1774. "General Richard Montgomery and his wife, Janet Livingston, plant locust seedlings on what will become the lawn of "Grasmere." The bricks were baked in a home-made kiln. An ox tramples clay near an...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural:  Sketch for Panel 6a, 1774

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town), Local history--New York (State); Village communities;
    • Sketch for panels depicting General Richard Montgomery and Janet Livingston planting locust seedlings, as well as for image of cornshucking bee, c.a. 1780. Sketches for the Rhinebeck post office murals were first executed by Dowsand trasferred to...
    • Sketch for Panel 6c, 1780, Rhinebeck Post Office Mural

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Local history--New York (State); Village communities;
    • Sketch for Rhinebeck Post Office mural panel depicting a 1780's "cornshucking bee." Mural commissioned for Rhinebeck, NY post office by WPA Section of Fine Arts Art in Public Buildings Program, photographed by C.B. Ross and Edward Campeau. Sketches...
    • Sketch for Panel 7, 1790, Rhinebeck Post Office Mural

    • Livingston family; Local history--New York (State); Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--History; Rhinebeck (N.Y.), Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.;
    • "Sunday morning before Dutch Reformed Church service. This building is drawn from the still standing clapboard Durch Reformed Church at Tivoli. Two walls of the present structure (built by John Coddington in 1809) are made of contributed stone, tow...
    • Sketch for Rhinebeck Post Office Mural : Cornshucking Bee

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Local history--New York (State); Village communities;
    • ". . . The boy who has found a red ear kisses the girl who brings the cider." ("Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office") Notice Dows's inclusion of a black slave laborer in lower right corner. Slavery officially persisted in New York State until 1799....
    • Rev. William Cunningham Rodgers

    • College presidents; Photography; Priests--United States;
    • Rev. William Cunningham Rodgers was the sixth president of the college, serving from 1909 to 1919. In 1910 Rev. Rodgers changed the title of warden to president. Under Rodgers the campus was modernized; electricity, a sewage system and central...
    • Dorothy Little Mitchell Oral History Interview [Audio]

    • Motion pictures; Bandstands; Dance parties; Circuses & shows; Chautauquas;
    • Mrs. Mitchell described how the same movies were shown in the town and in the village on the same night of the weekend. They had runners to take the films back and forth between the town and the village. She remembered when plumbing and...
    • Horizontal Corliss Steam Engine

    • Engines; Industry; Factories;
    • The Corliss steam engine was patented in 1849 by George Henry Corliss in Providence, Rhode Island. This engine was installed at Lignum - Vitae Products Corp. in Jersey City, New Jersey in 1899. The steam powered boiler had 100 lbs. of pressure and...
    • Pith Helmet

    • Headgear; Hunting; Night; Lamps;
    • A tan cotton twill pith helmet featuring an kerosene lamp attached to the top. It is unknown whether the lamp was installed by the manufacturer or by the helmet's owner. It is thought that the lamp may have been used as a nighttime hunting device....
    • Bell Memorial Chapel Bells

    • Churches; Bells;
    • After removal from the Bell Memorial Chapel, three large bells sit on the floor. These chimes were used in the Bell Chapel for more than half a century and would be installed in Grace Church, Nyack. The largest bell, measuring 2900 pounds and 52...
    • Grace Episcopal Church, Nyack, NY

    • Churches; Postcards; Stained glass;
    • The large gothic Grace Church has a large rose window over the front entrance and a tall clock tower in the rear. This photo was taken before the clock was installed.
    • The Lincoln Memorial Boulder, Nyack

    • Plaques; Monuments & memorials; Libraries;
    • The Lincoln Memorial Boulder and Plaque, a Soldiers and Sailors Memorial, was a gift from the children of Nyack. It was installed in front of the Nyack Library.
    • Nyack: Hopper House Plaque

    • Historical markers;
    • The plaque in front of the boyhood home of artist Edward Hopper was installed by the Historical Society of Rockland County. Hopper and his family lived on North Broadway in the Village of Nyack.
    • House at 19 Prospect Street, Nyack

    • Houses;
    • This simple T-shaped house was built in 1871 and is on the 1884 Burleigh map of Nyack. The basic original elements of the house are intact. New windows were being installed when this picture was taken.
    • Nyack Library's Carnegie Room

    • Libraries;
    • In 1974, the Carnegie Room of the Nyack Library held stacks of circulating books. The chandeliers are original fixtures, installed in 1903. It is now a reading and meeting room.
    • First Church of Christ, Scientist

    • Churches; Drawings;
    • In 1978, Architect John Hadley created these two drawings of the South Nyack church, First Church of Christ, Scientist. The frame building was completed about 1870 for Universalist meetings, but that congregation was always small. By the 1920s, the...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK