Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: Village
(801 results)



Display: 20

    • John Bard, 1893

    •  
    • Shown here at age 74, John Bard was a member of a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York City and from...
    • Rev. James Starr Clark

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Photographed here as a distinguished older man, James Starr Clark was a pivotal figure in the 19th century history of Tivoli. Arriving at Annandale in the early 1850's as a tutor to the Bard children, he lived with the family for two years, during...
    • John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Posing here as a young man, John Bard was born in 1819 to a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York...
    • James Starr Clark

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Pictured here as a young man, James Starr Clark came to Annandale in the 1850's as a tutor to the Bard children. He lived with the family for two years, during which time he developed a close, trusting relationship with the family. Hard working...
    • Tivoli Village Board Meeting

    • Village communities
    • Tivoli Village Board Meeting in February, 1972. Back of photograph identifies participants counterclockwise around table from far right as: "Dora Gruntler, Mortimer Appel, Robert Barrett, Herbert Mead, William Herman, and William Bain."
    • A Brief History of Tivoli

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History; Local history--New York (State); Tivoli (N.Y.)--History
    • This pamphlet outlines a brief history of the village of Tivoli, focusing on the buildings, businesses, and townspeople that have comprised it. It should be noted that 'A Brief History of Tivoli' contains significant errors, augmented through time...
    • Map of the Town of Red Hook, 1815

    • Red Hook (N.Y. : Town)--Maps
    • Reproduction of a map originally dated December 8, 1815 of the town of Red Hook, including what is now Tivoli and Annandale. The map's creator, John Cox Junior was Rhinebeck's town supervisor from 1808-1818. The map's inscription indicates that...
    • "Vic" the Butcher

    • Butchers
    • "Victor Salladin", verso of photograph. Long time residents still remember Vic's Village Variety as a place to buy fresh meats, breads, and general grocery items, and Vic himself as a warm proprietor never too busy to show kindess to children. ...
    • Tivoli Station

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History; Village communities; Horse-drawn vehicles;
    • Back of photo reads: "Uncle Elliott in front of Telegraph on the South side of Tivoli Station." This may have been an uncle or great-uncle of Joan Navins, Tivoli Village Historian in the 1970s.
    • Fireman's Hall

    • Tivoli (N.Y.)--History;
    • An image of the original firehouse, that now houses village offices, the Tivoli Free Library, and exhibit and meeting spaces.
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. Some Rhinebeck Buildings

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Local history--New York (State)
    • Sixth Panel over Window in Rhinebeck Post Office. From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" "Some outstanding Rhinebeck buildings--Foreground from left to right:--The School, designed and built in 1869 by Peter M. Fulton, burned in 1939; The...
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Jacobus Stoutenburgh Clears Land, before 1741

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y. : Town)--History--Pictorial works; Slavery--New York (State)--History--18th century
    • Panel 3 of Hyde Park Post Office Mural. From "Murals in the Hyde Park, New York Post Office": "Before 1741. Jacobus Stoutenburgh, his sons and slaves clear the land. His log cabin, built 1723, was the first house in Hyde Park Village-- The King's...
    • Map of the Village of East Chester

    • Maps; Measured drawings;
    • Map of the Village of East Chester. Filed Oct 11, 1841. After the Erie Railroad came throught this section was know as "Chester at the Depot" for a time. Now known as Downtown Chester. Most of the depot grounds became G.M. Roe Lumber & Coal yard...
    • E. D. Green House

    • Dwellings;photographs
    • Photograph of the E. D. Green House, built 1860 by James Hudson Board. He was descended from Cornelius and James Board, who settled in Chester before the Revolution, and from the Cornelius Board who was one of the early owners of the Durland Store...
    • First Chester Village Board.

    • Group portraits;photographs
    • Following incorporation in 1892, the first Village of Chester Board posed for this group photograph: President: W.A. Lawernce. Trustees: Joseph Durland; George M. Roe; and Thaddeus S. Durland. Treasurer: Charles W. Kerner
    • Thompson's Drug Store

    • Photographs; Group portraits; Drugstores;
    • Interior photograph of Thompson's Drug Store, located: Lower Main Street, Village of Chester. Shown are: Theadore A. J. Miller (in cap), Charlie Thompson (behind counter). Thompson's Store later became Clem & Daisy's general dry goods store. In...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK