Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: 1920s
(64 results)



Display: 20

    • Albee Dormitory interior, ca. 1930

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • A dormitory suite in Albee in the 1920s or 1930s. Two armchairs sit in either corner of a front room; there is a side table with an electric lamp pushed against a wall. A rocking chair and dresser are visible in the next room.
    • "The Scarlet Harriers"

    • St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); College students--New York (State); College students--New York (State);
    • In this picture, the St. Stephen's cross country team, named "The Scarlet Harriers," poses on the steps of the Memorial Gymnasium. One race that became popular in the 1920s was the 'Whaleback Run,' a three mile cross country race through the...
    • St. Stephen's Football Team

    • St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); College students--New York (State)
    • Football was popular at St. Stephen's in the 1920s, as it was on college campuses across the country. This picture is undated, but a study of contemporary yearbooks indicates that this was probably taken around 1924.
    • Mary (Tonetti) Lawrence

    • Photographs; Portrait photographs;
    • Mary (Tonetti) Lawrence, 1868-1945, with her dog. She is the daughter of H. E. Lawrence. She was a sculptor and landowner who rented to many artists from the 1920s to the 1940s.
    • Heyhoe

    • Photographs; Houses; Ruins;
    • Heyhoe, Mr. Gilman Sr's house on Route 9W, after the fire in 1920s. Heyhoe was a house on Rockland Road owned by Clinton Cilbert and sold in 1871 to Winthrop S. Gilman.
    • Armory, Newburgh, N.Y.

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)-Pictorial Works;
    • This is a hand colored postcard featuring a photograph of the Newburgh Armory which is located at 145 Broadway in the city of Newburgh, N.Y. The postmark is Oct. 7, 1914. It is addressed to Mrs. Orvetta Sears, Mountainville, Orange Co., N.Y. ...
    • 7 Shadyside Avenue, Upper Grand View, NY

    • Houses;
    • This picture doesn't show all the details of this pre-1924 house on Shadyside Avenue. Was it once called the cobble house? Note the cobblestone porch pillars. The Kenneth Sweet family lived here in the 1920s. There are fifty steps leading to the...
    • Hudson River Military Academy, South Nyack, NY

    • Schools; Military academies;
    • The four-story, h-shaped building has balconies on two of the floors. Cadets are standing on the balconies. Others are on horseback on the driveway. The academy was located on the east side of Piermont Avenue just north of Cornelison Avenue. This...
    • 257 South Broadway, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Towers;
    • This dwelling at 257 South Broadway was a typical Victorian house with a Queen Anne tower and a veranda until the 1920s. Then it was transformed with brick and grillwork. This house may have been a speakeasy during Prohibition.
    • First Church of Christ, Scientist

    • Churches; Drawings;
    • In 1978, Architect John Hadley created these two drawings of the South Nyack church, First Church of Christ, Scientist. The frame building was completed about 1870 for Universalist meetings, but that congregation was always small. By the 1920s, the...
    • 253 Piermont Avenue, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Gables; Porches;
    • This mansard house in South Nyack has an unusual horse collar gable and long molded windows. The footings on the window moldings are unique. The sleeping porch (on the right) was a typical addition of the 1920s.
    • The Gateway, Sloatsburg, NY

    • Stone walls; Postcards;
    • The scene - a young girl standing by a stone pillar and an early automobile chugging up the dirt lane - is much older than the 1940 postmark on the card. Vanderbilt Waldron ran a general store in Sloatsburg in the 1920s.
    • Koehler's Market, Nyack, NY

    • Butcher shops; Butchers;
    • Three butchers, tentatively identified as the Wolgemuth brothers - Charles, Joseph, and Roy,stand behind the counter of Koehler's Market. The meat business was started by Lenhard Wolgemuth in the late 1880s, sold to Henry Koehler in the 1890s, and...
    • Foresters Hall, New City, NY

    • Fraternal lodges; Men;
    • Members of the Foresters of America pose outside their hall, which stood at the corner of Main and Second Street in New City. Many of the members of this fraternal organization hold flowers and wear ribbons with medals attached. A few members have...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK