Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: 1877)
(24 results)



Display: 20

    • St. Stephen's College Graduating Class of 1877

    • St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); Bard College--History; College graduates
    • A photograph of the graduating class of 1877 mounted on posterboard. Around the image are the last names of the students in focus. "Class of" is handwritten within a Greek key border. "1877" is stenciled next to the key in large, red numbers,...
    • Chester Arson Case

    • Clippings; Arson; Trials, litigation, etc.; Insurance;
    • Newspaper article about the arson trial resulting from the investigation following the disastrous fire of July 5, 1877 that consumed much of downtown Chester.
    • Evelyn and Sarah DuBois

    •  
    • A portrait of Evelyn DuBois (b. 26 Jun 1878 d. 10 Jan 1946) and her younger sister, Sarah (b. 08 Nov 1884 d. 24 Oct 1957). They are the daughters of Solomon DuBois and Rachel Eltinge DuBois. Solomon and Rachel also had two sons, Oswald DuBois (b....
    • Turneur Hutton house

    • Photographs; Houses
    • Looking across the road at the Turneur Hutton House, built 1731 Wash Drawing 1877 by John Henry Hill this typical Dutch style house still stands at 160 Sickletown Rd., West Nyack.
    • Newburgh Lager Beer Brewery

    •  
    • This is a photograph of the Newburgh Lager Beer Brewery in Newburgh, NY. The Brewery was opened in 1874 and closed in 1877. On the left side of the photograph, three men stand in front of a horse drawn buggy filled with beer barrels. Beside them...
    • Newburgh Lager Beer Brewery

    •  
    • This photograph of the Newburgh Lager Beer Brewery shows a horse and buggy with a man and a child on the left. A man stands on the ledge of one window which has shutters on each side. Above him is an open window with a pile of bags, possibly...
    • Annie E. Demarest's First Year Class

    • Schools; School children;
    • Annie E. Demarest stands at the back of her class of more than sixty primary students. The class is pictured outside of the Liberty Street School in Nyack. Miss Demarest has taught continuously in the school since 1877 to the present time...
    • William H. Baldwin's House, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Gardens;
    • Not much of the Baldwin house can be seen as it's hidden behind large shade trees. In the front is a large circular flower bed and behind that, a stairway leading to the house. A man, possibly William H. Baldwin, stands on the lawn at the right. In...
    • Foot of Burd Street, Nyack, NY

    • Factories; Business districts;
    • At the foot of Burd Street stands one of the few remaining factory buildings in Nyack. Built in 1877 as a shoe factory, it became a hat manufactory in 1884. In 1984, it was home to two firms, Schofield & Colgan, Architects and Lawler, Matusky, and...
    • 143 Main Street, Nyack, NY

    • Buildings; Grocers;
    • This three-story brick building was built in 1877 by William Randolph. It was originally a large grocery store. The art deco addition filled in the large, wrap-around veranda. Before Homer Lydecker opened a real estate/insurance business, the men's...
    • 8 South Broadway, Nyack, NY

    • Buildings;
    • This five-story brick building has long been a prime business location in Nyack. It was built in the 1870s by Michael Kennedy, who owned a shoe store. In 1877 the Rockland County Journal announced "Michael Kennedy's new brick building will have one...
    • Mount Moor Cemetery, West Nyack, NY

    • Cemeteries; Monuments & memorials;
    • Mount Moor Cemetery is an African-American burial ground in Rockland County; it was organized in the 1800s. This obelisk monument for members of the Guilfield family is in a fenced area of the cemetery; other headstones are placed in groups on the...
    • Pails made at Storms Factory, Nyack, NY

    • Pails;
    • On display are a washtub and four pails, all made of cedar. The brothers, Abraham and Henry Storms, started the cedar pail factory in 1840. The small workshop employed seven and secured the cedar from North Carolina and Florida and the hoops from...
    • Daniel D. Demarest

    • Men; School board members;
    • This photo of Daniel D. Demarest was taken from an earlier portrait, as the oval mat is in place. Mr. Demarest, a school trustee in 1865, wears a wool suit and a pleated shirt. Daniel D. Demarest was elected treasurer of Rockland County in 1875...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK