Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: on 1869
(77 results)



Display: 20

    • Saugerties Light House

    • Rivers--New York (State)--Dutchess Co.; Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History; Fresnel lenses ; Saugerties (N.Y.)
    • An early image of the Saugerties Lighthouse on the Hudson River. Built in 1869, it had fallen into serious disrepair by the 1970s and 1980s. Through the efforts of the Saugerties Lighthouse Conservancy, the structure has been renovated; it is...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. Some Rhinebeck Buildings

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Local history--New York (State)
    • Sixth Panel over Window in Rhinebeck Post Office. From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" "Some outstanding Rhinebeck buildings--Foreground from left to right:--The School, designed and built in 1869 by Peter M. Fulton, burned in 1939; The...
    • Eureka Hotel

    • Architecture; Houses; Hotels;
    • This elaborate house was owned by Josiah G. Clark who sold it to Mr. Barnet L. Solomon in 1869. It was located at Land's End which is the point of Storm King Mountain on the east where it meets the Hudson River.
    • Irving D. Sutton Meat Market

    •  
    • A photogragh, an advertisement and a newspaper clipping pertaining to Irving Sutton's Market at 54/56 Main St., in New Paltz, NY.

      Irving Sutton, born in 1869, was the son of Thomas Sutton and Gertrude Freer Sutton, and a lifelong resident...
    • Highview elementary school

    • Schools; Students; Children; Architectural drawings; Gables; Pediments; Automobiles; Driveways; Bell towers; Houses;
    • This is a series of three images - two smaller photographs side-by-side at the top and a long architectural sketch along the bottom half of the page. The top photograph on the left shows the original schoolhouse. There is a crowd of children in...
    • Empire annual ball

    • Programs; Dance; Balls (Parties);
    • This is an announcement and program for an annual ball to take place on January 27, 1869 for the Empire Engine Company. The ball will take place at Mead's Hotel in Upper Piermont. The program lists all of dances that will take place for the evening.
    • Louisa Hasbrouck's studio portrait

    • Huguenots;
    • Full length studio portrait of Louisa Hasbrouck. In the portrait Louisa has one had on a chair and the other is at her side with what appears to be a ring on her ring finger. She has her hair curled into ringlets and is wearing glasses and a dark...
    • l. Studio portrait of Levi Hasbrouck

    • Huguenots; Faces;
    • Carte de Visite head portrait of Levi Hasbrouck, which was most likely copied from a daguerreotype after Levi's death in 1861. In the image parts of Levi's coat, shirt and bow tie are visible. Two thin gold lines are visible around the entire...
    • Receipt for Glebe Rent

    • Newburgh (N.Y.)--History--19th Century;Receipts (Acknowledgments)
    • This is a receipt made out to H. A. Jones, Glebe Trustee, for Glebe rents for the year ending May 1, 1869. It is signed by Lewis M. Smith, Treasurer of the City of Newburgh.
    • J. T. Gaynor & Co., 8 South Franklin Street, Nyack, NY

    • Business districts; Grocers; Feed stores;
    • On p. 4 of Breed's 1902 Nyack Directory is this photograph of Gaynor's Grocers on Franklin Street. Here Nyackers could buy flour, feed, hay, and straw, as well as spades, shovels, and garden tools. The business was established in 1869.The location...
    • 68 Jefferson Street, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Mansard roofs;
    • This is the only house on the west side of Jefferson on the 1884 Burleigh map, "Nyack on the Hudson." It was built as a retreat for a large landowner, most likely before 1869. Originally the house had a porch on the front which wrapped around to...
    • The Peter Smith house, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Stores & shops; Newspaper industry;
    • This large frame building with the NEWS OFFICE sign over the porch was the home of Peter Smith, located at the southeast corner of Broadway and Main Street. In 1869 it was torn down to make way for the three story brick building which housed...
    • Cover

    • Ladd-Franklin, Christine, 1847-1930; Vassar College Students
    • Cover of diary by Christine Ladd-Franklin, Vassar College Class of 1869
    • Page 01

    • Ladd-Franklin, Christine, 1847-1930; Vassar College Students
    • Page 1 of diary by Christine Ladd-Franklin, Vassar College Class of 1869

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK