Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: (built
(1711 results)



Display: 20

    • Aspinwall (Occident) Hall, 1862?-1884?

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • Aspinwall Dormitory, the oldest building on main campus, from the northwest. The photograph appears to have been taken some time after the construction of the hall, but before Stone Row was built in 1884.
    • Bard Hall, 1943

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College; Gothic revival (Architecture)--New York
    • Bard Hall from the east. A car is parked in front of the building; St. Margaret's Well stands in the field to the left. Built in 1852 by John and Margaret Bard, this building functioned as the original chapel, and was immediately established as a...
    • Bard Hall, ca. 1890

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.); St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); Gothic revival (Architecture)--New York
    • Bard Hall, the College's oldest building (built in 1852), from the south. John and Margaret Bard built this as the original chapel, and a parish school was immediately established for neighborhood children.
    • John Bard, 1893

    •  
    • Shown here at age 74, John Bard was a member of a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York City and from...
    • Trinity Church, Tivoli. Chapel and schoolrooms

    • Church buildings; School buildings
    • Trinity Church and School was built with money provided by John and Margaret Bard under the direction and guidance of James Starr Clark. School rooms were located on the ground floor with the church above. In this early, undated photo, the size...
    • Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • Despite the title of the postcard, this building was never home to John Watts De Peyster, who lived at Rose Hill in Tivoli. Originally built under the direction of James Starr Clark with funds provided by John and Margaret Bard, this school had...
    • De Peyster Home monument

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • This marble monument, which still stands on North Road in Tivoli, is the only remnant of the school built by John and Margaret Bard and James Starr Clark, later purchased and renamed by John Watts de Peyster. This gentleman was well known for,...
    • John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Posing here as a young man, John Bard was born in 1819 to a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York...
    • The New Madalin House

    •  
    • Exterior of the New Madalin House. The original building burned during the week of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration in 1909. Caption attached to postcard reads: "This hotel was built in 1910 by Harry Hoffman, brother of John and Theodore. In 1915...
    • Elting's Store

    • Village communities
    • Caption attached to postcard reads: "Built in 1846 by Erastus Kimball as a store, this building was changed in 1856 to a hotel by Edward Lasher. Known as the Morgan House, Potts Hotel, and Morey Hotel. After Patrick Morey's death in 1928, Seymore...
    • Hotel Morey

    • Hotels
    • Caption attached to photo reads: "The Madalin House was built in 1839, burned in 1909, and was rebuilt as the Morey Hotel. The small building next on the left housed a shoe repair and Moore's barbershop. In the 1970s Larry Broadmoore Esq. had a...
    • Moore Block

    •  
    • Exterior of Moore building, corner of Broadway and North Rd., Madalin, NY. Built in 1899, the building originally sported a square tower facing the intersection.
    • Girl in front of Le Chateau de Tivoli

    • Girls
    • The little girl in this picture is Jane Osterhoudt, seated on a wall in front of Le Chateau de Tivoli. The Chateau was built in 1795 by Peter de Labegarre who died in 1807 penniless in New Orleans.
    • Potts Hotel

    • Hotels
    • Caption on the back of the photo reads "First built in 1846 as a store at the corner of Montgomery St. and Broadway, this building was later changed to the Potts Hotel, owned by P.H. Morey. It then became the Elting's Store, and later an apartment...
    • Young housewives

    • Photographs
    • Young wives pose for a photo in front of one of the bungalows. One woman holds a bouquet of fresh peonies. William Matthews' scrapbook provides further description: "18 summer bungalows have been built on the property--completely furnished, these...
    • Tivoli Water Tower

    • Water supply
    • This photo depicts the water tower as it appeared prior to its colorful paint job. Built in 1938 with WPA money, today the tower is used as a symbol of Tivoli.
    • "The House on the Rock"

    •  
    • The structure in the foreground, sometimes referred to as the 'Stone Jug,' was the first dormitory on campus. An article in a February 1897 issue of the St. Stephen's Messenger notes the following: "In this house lived the few students, who at...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK