Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Date: Unknown
(3259 results)



Display: 20

    • Rev. James Starr Clark

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Photographed here as a distinguished older man, James Starr Clark was a pivotal figure in the 19th century history of Tivoli. Arriving at Annandale in the early 1850's as a tutor to the Bard children, he lived with the family for two years, during...
    • Trinity Church, Tivoli. Chapel and schoolrooms

    • Church buildings; School buildings
    • Trinity Church and School was built with money provided by John and Margaret Bard under the direction and guidance of James Starr Clark. School rooms were located on the ground floor with the church above. In this early, undated photo, the size...
    • Trinity School and grounds

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • This view of the grounds of Trinity School shows the extent of the operation. At its height, the facility included a gymnasium, barn, steam laundry, orchard, garden and vineyard on its ten acre site. James Starr Clark saw to it that the...
    • Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • Despite the title of the postcard, this building was never home to John Watts De Peyster, who lived at Rose Hill in Tivoli. Originally built under the direction of James Starr Clark with funds provided by John and Margaret Bard, this school had...
    • Watts de Peyster Industrial Home for Girls

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • A group of resident girls can be seen standing in front of the De Peyster Industrial School and Home on a foggy day. No photographs remain from the days of its existence as the Trinity School and Home for boys under the direction of James Starr...
    • De Peyster Home monument

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • This marble monument, which still stands on North Road in Tivoli, is the only remnant of the school built by John and Margaret Bard and James Starr Clark, later purchased and renamed by John Watts de Peyster. This gentleman was well known for,...
    • China Doll

    • China dolls
    • This doll was found in pieces circa 1975 behind the site of the Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School, formerly James Starr Clark's Trinity School and Home. The head and torso are one unit; arms and legs found separately were matched and...
    • James Starr Clark

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Pictured here as a young man, James Starr Clark came to Annandale in the 1850's as a tutor to the Bard children. He lived with the family for two years, during which time he developed a close, trusting relationship with the family. Hard working...
    • The New Madalin House

    •  
    • Exterior of the New Madalin House. The original building burned during the week of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration in 1909. Caption attached to postcard reads: "This hotel was built in 1910 by Harry Hoffman, brother of John and Theodore. In 1915...
    • Elting's Store

    • Village communities
    • Caption attached to postcard reads: "Built in 1846 by Erastus Kimball as a store, this building was changed in 1856 to a hotel by Edward Lasher. Known as the Morgan House, Potts Hotel, and Morey Hotel. After Patrick Morey's death in 1928, Seymore...
    • Tivoli Men

    • Portraits, group
    • Ten men posing together on bridge over sign saying "Return to Sup'r. of Bridges and Buildings." Smiling man second from right on the top row is identified as "Happy" McAuliffe.
    • Bayly's

    • Drinking establishments; Village communities
    • Back of photo identifies Nicholas Reece, seated at the bar, and a gentleman identified only as 'McNulty', walking.
    • Tivoli High School

    • Public schools
    • Though the postcard is titled "Tivoli High School", this building actually served children of all grade levels. The Tivoli school merged with the Red Hook School System in 1965 and was later renovated as an apartment building. It is currently...
    • The Air Line Ferry

    • Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History; Ferries; River boats--Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)
    • In 1859, the "Air Line" began crossing the Hudson between Saugerties and Tivoli, NY.
    • Ferry Captain

    • Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History; Transportation--New York (State); River boats--Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)
    • Back of photograph identifies subjects as "J. Navins's cousin Catherine Carpenter Lynch on ferry with ferry captain".

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK