This building known as the Whaleback has been owned twice by Bard. Early in the 20th century, it was a student dormitory, (see: http://www.hrvh.org/u?/bard,212). In 1965 Bard purchased it for use as faculty apartment housing. Originally, this...
Original advertisement sign of George H. Brooks, stating Hand Made Wagons & Carriages Painted.
George H. Brooks moved from Sterling Furnace to Sugar Loaf in 1885, and operated a Blacksmith Shop. In 1895 he moved to Chester to a wooden building...
Photographs; Villages; Railroad signal towers; Carts & wagons;
Photograph taken in downtown Chester, looking towards the depot, of a man standing next to buggy labeled" “Decorator,
305 B,Way, Brooklyn.”
In background, Erie freight cars, Borden's milk depot and the Railroad control tower can be seen.
A Razey photo of the Presbyterian church manse with open sheds in the rear for tying horse and wagons during services.
The structure is still standing (as of July, 2007). Currently occupied by: Ralston-Lippincott-
Album/folio of ten photos of Chester scenes.
Chester High School on Oakland Avenue, called University Heights.
Lower left corner marked: "3rd Grade"
Bottom: "Chester Academy"
"A bit of High St., Chester, N.Y."
Right house: "Thompson's"
Statement for blacksmithing services, wagon parts and other repairs rendered by S. Wilkin & Sons Practical Horse-Shoers, Dealers in
Buggies, Carriages, Farm Wagons, Farmer' Milk wagons, Surreys, Two-Seaters, Runabouts, Etc. to J. B. Tuthill from...