Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: most
(412 results)



Display: 20

    • China Doll Head

    • China dolls
    • This doll head was found ca. 1975 behind the site of the former Trinity School and Home, later called the Watts de Peyster Home for Girls. During the early decades of the 20th century it was customary for villagers to dump trash along the banks of...
    • Hartzell Album, Page 34

    • Photograph albums; St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.)
    • Two photographs, one of which is identified as "Most of returning class of Freshmen, 1911"; the other is labelled in part: "Varsity Freshmen, 1911."
    • Donna Matthews and Jackie Lotocke

    • Swimming pools
    • Donna Matthews, left, with her childhood friend Jackie Latocke, (now Smith). During this time period, many if not most local children learned to swim in this pool. William Matthews' scrapbook has this description of the pool: "In 1939, a cement...
    • Scene from "Taming of the Shrew"

    • Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College; Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
    • The actors are identified, from left: Betsy Boyd '51, Carlos Rangel '51, and Hyacinth Coopersmith '48. Carlos Rangel became a prominent writer, journalist and television personality in Venezuala. At his death in 1988, the New York Times called...
    • Aerial View of Campus

    • Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College
    • In this aerial view of campus, dated April of 1947, main campus and most of its buildings are visible. Route 9G runs north through the right of the image.
    • St. Stephen's Player at Bat

    • St. Stephen's College (Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.); Baseball; College students--New York (State);
    • In the fall of 1929, the Athletics Department of St. Stephen's announced that baseball would replace Lacross as the official spring sport. It was felt that to be competitive, St. Stephen's should promote sports that didn't require a steep learning...
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Unloading Goods at Stoutenburgh's Landing, ca. 1795

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y.); Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.); River boats--Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.); Rivers--New York (State)--Dutchess Co.; Village communities; Water supply;
    • From "Murals in the Hyde Park, New York Post Office:" "About 1795. Richard De Cantillon, Tobias Stoutenburgh's son-in-law, supervises workmen unloading rum, sugar and molasses from one of his West India trading packets. His landing, site of the...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural: Plowing on the King's Highway, 1740

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Rhinebeck (N.Y. : Town); Local history--New York (State); Village communities;
    • "A farmer living on the King's Highway stops plowing to chat with the new weekly Post Rider on his way from New York to Albany. Rhinebeck has always been one of the most important stops first on the Indian Trail to Fort Orange (Albany). Later the...
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: John and Samuel Bard, ca. 1789

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y. : Town)--History--Pictorial works
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural Panel 6. From "Murals in the Hyde Park, New York Post Office," published by Town of Hyde Park Historical Society: In the late 1780s. Dr. John Bard and Dr. Samuel Bard examine their new Italian melons, fertilized with...
    • Sketch for Panel 5, Hyde Park Post Office Mural

    • Horse-drawn vehicles; Whaling--New York (State)--Hudson--History
    • From "Murals in the Hyde Park Post Office": "July 24, 1835. Dr. David Hosack and Miss Harriet Martineau drive a gig past Bard's Rock where the crew of a whaler roll casks of spring water to their ship. Dr. Samuel Bard's store and two dwellings face...
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Dr. David Hosack and Harriet Martineau, 1835

    • Horse-drawn vehicles; Whaling--New York (State)--Hudson--History; Hosack, David, 1769-1835; Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y. :Town)--History--Pictorial works
    • Panel 5 of Hyde Park Post Office Mural. From "Murals in the Hyde Park Post Office": "July 24, 1835. Dr. David Hosack and Miss Harriet Martineau drive a gig past Bard's Rock where the crew of a whaler roll casks of spring water to their ship. Dr....
    • Reamer Kline

    • College presidents; Photography;
    • Reamer Kline was president of Bard College from 1960 until 1974. An Episcopal priest, his presidency was marked by civility, even during the most turbulent time in America's social history. In 1963 the college purchased the Ward Manor property,...
    • Map of the Village of East Chester

    • Maps; Measured drawings;
    • Map of the Village of East Chester. Filed Oct 11, 1841. After the Erie Railroad came throught this section was know as "Chester at the Depot" for a time. Now known as Downtown Chester. Most of the depot grounds became G.M. Roe Lumber & Coal yard...
    • Hambletonian Monument

    • Photographs; Monuments; Horse racing;
    • Photograph of the Hambletonian Monument located on Hambletonian Ave., at intersection with Oakland Avenue. “Hambletonian, "The Father of Harness Racers" owned by entrepreneur Wm Rysdyck. Rysdyck's horses "Long Island Black Hawk" and "New York...
    • Last Chance in 20 Miles

    • Photographs; Stores & shops; Hotels; Taverns (Inns);
    • Photograph of uptown Chester opposite Academy Avenue on Main Street. Sign standing on end on porch: “Last Chance in 20 Miles.” Large sign extending from front corner of building: “W?n Fricker ???, G. Krueger – Lager Beer.” Center...
    • J.B. Tuthill Building plans & specifications

    • Engineering drawings; Specifications; Buildings;FIRE
    • These plans & specifications call for the J.B. Tuthill Building to be constructed of fire resistant brick construction. Following the fire of July, 1876 that destroyed most of downtown Chester, many of the buildings were built using brick...
    • Abijah Yelverton to Peter Townsend Indenture

    • Mortgages; Documents; Land grants;
    • Yelverton Indenture (mortgage) - June 16, 1778. Abijah Yelverton, Innholder, mortgage to Peter Townsend, for a part of the Cromline Tract of 42 acres. This was acknowledged before Judge Marvin in Chester. This 42 acres comprised most of what later...
    • John Ensign to John Yelverton Indenture

    • Mortgages; Documents; Land grants
    • Deed, dated May 19th, 1755, documenting the sale of 42 3/4 acres of one James Ensign to John Yelverton for the sum of 97 pounds and 4 shillings. This is most of the acreage on which the village of Chester developed.

      Note: The spelling in...
    • Gustafson Sisters Oral History Interview [Audio]

    • Families; Recreation; Clubs; Clubhouses; Teaching
    • Ethel and Thelma Gustafson's father came from Sweden to work for Mead and Taft. They first lived at the Cornwall Landing settlement and later lived on North Street in Cornwall. They talked a lot about school days and fun activities. They were most...
    • Drumlin Hall 1976

    • Photographs; Building construction; Buildings;
    • A photograph of the then recently completed Drumlin Hall. Groundbreaking took place Oct. 24, 1974 and was officially completed on Oct. 17, 1976. The name Drumlin was chosen by the student body. It refers to the oval, rounded hill of unstratified...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK