Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: is
(8928 results)



Display: 20

    • Stone Row Dormitories, 1885-1891

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • A view of Stone Row (Potter and McVickar Halls) from the west, before the construction of North and South Hoffman Halls. Seven students in cap and gown stand in the doorway and in front of the building. Aspinwall is visible to the right.
    • Ravine Houses, ca. 1980

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • Two female students stand on the suspended walkway to the entrance of one of the Ravine Houses. It is winter, the trees are bare, and there is snow on the ground.
    • Albee Social Room, ca. 1935

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • The interior of the Albee Social Room. A long table is covered in pamphlets and papers near the center of the room; the walls are lines with portraits and leather chairs and couches.
    • Albee Dormitory interior, ca. 1930

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • A dormitory suite in Albee in the 1920s or 1930s. Two armchairs sit in either corner of a front room; there is a side table with an electric lamp pushed against a wall. A rocking chair and dresser are visible in the next room.
    • Bard Hall, 1943

    • College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College; Gothic revival (Architecture)--New York
    • Bard Hall from the east. A car is parked in front of the building; St. Margaret's Well stands in the field to the left. Built in 1852 by John and Margaret Bard, this building functioned as the original chapel, and was immediately established as a...
    • John Bard, 1893

    •  
    • Shown here at age 74, John Bard was a member of a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York City and from...
    • Margaret Johnston Bard

    •  
    • Margaret Johnston Bard poses for a formal portrait, wearing a long velvet dress. Though few of her personal papers remain, Margaret Bard was known for her intelligence and religious devotion. Her family fortune brought wealth to John Bard through...
    • William Bard, son of John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Willie Bard stands for a formal portrait. The only son of Margaret Johnston Bard and John Bard, his death in 1868 plunged the family into such grief that removal from Annandale to Europe seemed the only course. A small white stone was installed...
    • Trinity Church, Tivoli. Chapel and schoolrooms

    • Church buildings; School buildings
    • Trinity Church and School was built with money provided by John and Margaret Bard under the direction and guidance of James Starr Clark. School rooms were located on the ground floor with the church above. In this early, undated photo, the size...
    • De Peyster Home monument

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • This marble monument, which still stands on North Road in Tivoli, is the only remnant of the school built by John and Margaret Bard and James Starr Clark, later purchased and renamed by John Watts de Peyster. This gentleman was well known for,...
    • John Bard

    • Portrait photography--United States
    • Posing here as a young man, John Bard was born in 1819 to a distinguished family of doctors and educators. His grandfather and great-grandfather, Drs. Samuel and John Bard respectively, were preeminent physicians who practiced both in New York...
    • Tivoli Men

    • Portraits, group
    • Ten men posing together on bridge over sign saying "Return to Sup'r. of Bridges and Buildings." Smiling man second from right on the top row is identified as "Happy" McAuliffe.
    • Hotel Morey

    • Hotels
    • Caption attached to photo reads: "The Madalin House was built in 1839, burned in 1909, and was rebuilt as the Morey Hotel. The small building next on the left housed a shoe repair and Moore's barbershop. In the 1970s Larry Broadmoore Esq. had a...
    • Tivoli Free Library

    • Libraries
    • Formerly a store, the building which is today a bookstore was once the Tivoli Library, as pictured here.
    • Tivoli High School

    • Public schools
    • Though the postcard is titled "Tivoli High School", this building actually served children of all grade levels. The Tivoli school merged with the Red Hook School System in 1965 and was later renovated as an apartment building. It is currently...
    • Driving down Friendship St.

    • Automobiles
    • Typed caption attached to photo reads: "This picture was taken in 1928 coming down Friendship from [sic] the old Tivoli post office. The buildings in the picture on the left were the "Farmers Hotel" and the horse sheds, both were torn down to make...
    • Girl in front of Le Chateau de Tivoli

    • Girls
    • The little girl in this picture is Jane Osterhoudt, seated on a wall in front of Le Chateau de Tivoli. The Chateau was built in 1795 by Peter de Labegarre who died in 1807 penniless in New Orleans.
    • Eleanor Roosevelt with Others

    • First ladies (United States)
    • Eleanor Roosevelt stands with Tivoli residents on the occasion of her Memorial Day speech at the Red Church. The woman on her right is Alice Bard, and the gentlemen on her left are veterans "Billy" Brown and George Woolsey, respectively.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK