Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • Description: down
(698 results)



Display: 20

    • China Doll Head

    • China dolls
    • This doll head was found ca. 1975 behind the site of the former Trinity School and Home, later called the Watts de Peyster Home for Girls. During the early decades of the 20th century it was customary for villagers to dump trash along the banks of...
    • Watts De Peyster Industrial Home and School

    • Boarding schools--United States
    • Despite the title of the postcard, this building was never home to John Watts De Peyster, who lived at Rose Hill in Tivoli. Originally built under the direction of James Starr Clark with funds provided by John and Margaret Bard, this school had...
    • Driving down Friendship St.

    • Automobiles
    • Typed caption attached to photo reads: "This picture was taken in 1928 coming down Friendship from [sic] the old Tivoli post office. The buildings in the picture on the left were the "Farmers Hotel" and the horse sheds, both were torn down to make...
    • "At Annandale, Christmas Eve 1888"

    • Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)
    • This image is the only known photograph of the interior of the Bard Home. Taken after Margaret Bard's death, the house was not regularly occupied by John Bard and his second wife Annie Belcher at this time. The room appears to be well appointed and...
    • Greybarns Recreation Room

    • Postcards
    • As described in William Matthews' scrapbook: "Greybarns, once the winter quarters of forty head of cattle--now a summer vacation place to fifty girls. They cook and eat down in the basement. They sleep where hay once [was stored].
    • "The House on the Rock"

    •  
    • The structure in the foreground, sometimes referred to as the 'Stone Jug,' was the first dormitory on campus. An article in a February 1897 issue of the St. Stephen's Messenger notes the following: "In this house lived the few students, who at...
    • Dwelling Units

    • Photographs; College buildings--New York (State); Annandale-on-Hudson (N.Y.)--Bard College;
    • Built in 1946 with Federal Housing Project Funds, they served as dormitories, faculty and student apartments, and painting studios. They have since been torn down.
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural: Sturgeon Fishing on the Hudson, 1870

    • Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y. : Town)--History--Pictorial works; Hyde Park (Dutchess County, N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc;
    • Hyde Park Post Office Mural Panel 15. "1870-- William Meier (head of Hyde Park's caviar industry) pulls up an oversized sturgeon helped by Abe Atkins [an African American veteran who had fought in the Civil War as a member of Co. G of the 20th...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. Some Rhinebeck Buildings

    • Rhinebeck (N.Y.)--Buildings, structures, etc.; Local history--New York (State)
    • Sixth Panel over Window in Rhinebeck Post Office. From "Murals in the Rhinebeck Post Office:" "Some outstanding Rhinebeck buildings--Foreground from left to right:--The School, designed and built in 1869 by Peter M. Fulton, burned in 1939; The...
    • Rhinebeck Post Office: The Steamboat "Clermont," 1807

    • Steamboat lines--Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History; Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History
    • Panel 8 of Rhinebeck Post Office Mural. The steamboat "Clermont" sails by Slate Dock on its August 17th, 1807 maiden voyage. The "Clermont" was designed by Robert Fulton, built in partnership with Robert Livingston, and named after Livingston's...
    • Sketch for Panel 8 of Rhinebeck Post Office Mural

    • Steamboat lines--Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History; Hudson River (N.Y. and N.J.)--History
    • The "Clermont" sails by Slate Dock on its August 17th, 1807 maiden voyage. The "Clermont" was designed by Robert Fulton, built in partnership with Robert Livingston, and named after Livingston's Hudson Valley estate. Though Fulton's project was...
    • Rev. William Cunningham Rodgers

    • College presidents; Photography; Priests--United States;
    • Rev. William Cunningham Rodgers was the sixth president of the college, serving from 1909 to 1919. In 1910 Rev. Rodgers changed the title of warden to president. Under Rodgers the campus was modernized; electricity, a sewage system and central...
    • Apple Mill-Cider Press

    • Cider; Agricultural machinery & implements;
    • This combination apple mill-cider press was used many decades by the Morrison Baird Farm in Sugar Loaf.

      Apples would be dropped in the hopper and the apparatus turned by a flat belt on the big pulley or by a hand crank (missing) on the...
    • Chester Inn sign.

    • Signs (Notices); Advertising; Taverns (Inns);
    • Sign taken down when proprietor, Herman Santos, closed the Chester Inn on Main Street in uptown Chester about 1970.
    • Main Street, Chester, N.Y.

    • Photographs; Villages; Road construction; Streets; Street lights; Street lights; Gas street lamps;water
    • Photograph, probably taken during the paving of Main Street. Note equipment down the street on the left. Wooden side walks. Kerosene street lamp in center of watering trough. On right: Osborne Chester Market, C.W. Kerner Boots and Shoes.
    • Up the Hill, Firthcliffe, N. Y.

    • Postcards; Houses; Railroad stations; Stores & shops
    • These buildings were part of the Firth Carpet Company community in Cornwall, NY. The large building was the post office and the smaller building on the left was Anna Smith's general store. In the left background is a view of the train station. The...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK