Skip to main content
Hudson River Valley Heritage

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Browsing items in: Nyack Library

(5498 results)



Display: 20

    • #76 Sixth Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Porches; Architectural decorations & ornaments;
    • Built on a steep plot of land, the house itself is tall and upright, not conforming to the slope. Two complete stories and an attic are enhanced by the wide porch with vertical columns and balustrades. The lattice work under the porch creates the...
    • #77 Sixth Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • This large village house has had many changes and additions in the last century and more. The house is found on Burleigh's 1884 map, "Nyack on the Hudson." It is one of two house on a huge tract of forest owened by lawyer Francis Tillou. For a...
    • 10-14 South Broadway, Nyack, NY

    • Buildings; Storefronts;
    • This corner building, known as the Equity or the Commercial Building, was originally four stories. A fire destroyed the upper two. Several stores are found on the bottom floor, women's accessories and clothing, a jeweler and a thrift shop. In 1919,...
    • 100 First Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses;
    • Little can be seen of this house, hidden by trees and hedge. The high peak of the roof and the sunburst over the entryway are interesting architectural details.
    • 100 Sickles Avenue, Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Gambrel roofs; Porches;
    • This modest village house was built in the late 1920s as a one-family dwelling. It is now a two-family house and has two entries from the porch. In the front, a single wide dormer protrudes from the gambrel roof.
    • 100 South Broadway, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Architectural decorations & ornaments;
    • This wedding cake house was built in 1884. It does not appear on the 1884 Burleigh view of Nyack on Hudson, but was included in the 1984 Hopper House exhibit of centennial houses in Nyack. It has every Victorian embellishment: bargeboard, brackets,...
    • 1002 Route 9W, Grand View, NY

    • Houses;
    • This house, built as a gingerbread Victorian in 1895, has been much changed. In 1936 it was sold to Joseph Schmidt, a NYC baker, and he and his family made many of the alterations. The history of the Schmidt house is discussed in Terry Talley's...
    • 100th Anniversary Nyack Dutch Reformed Church

    • Centennial celebrations; Churches; Parades & processions;
    • A parade is forming on Church Street. Herbert V. Baldwin and Edmund Good, in Dutch costumes and wooden shoes, hold a large banner commemorating the Reformed Church's one hundredth anniversary.
    • 100th Anniversary of the Nyack Fire Department

    • Centennial celebrations; Fire stations;
    • A number of men (perhaps firemen) dressed in costumes for the parade honoring the one hundredth anniversary of the Nyack Fire Department. One is in a hula skirt, another in a barrel; most are wearing female garb.
    • 101 South Broadway, South Nyack, NY

    • Churches;
    • This appealing Carpenter-Gothic building is on the east side of South Broadway, just past Cedar Hill Avenue. It was built as the sanctuary for the Universalist Unitarian church of Nyack and then became the home of the First Church of Christ,...
    • 102 South Boulevard, South Nyack, NY

    • Houses; Dormers; Porches;
    • The small front entrance of 102 South Boulevard is below the road but is balanced by a back porch that has a view of the Hudson River. The curved eaves of the roof are repeated in the dormer. The first story is built of cinderblock bricks, while...
    • 103 South Broadway, South Nyack

    • Houses; Medical offices;
    • This shuttered frame house in South Nyack had a windowed entryway, presumably for the patients. It was the home and office of Abraham Schechner, MD, from 1930 to 1938. Earlier, a Dr. Davis had his practice in this house.
    • 1037 Route 9W, Grand View, NY

    • Houses;
    • Known as the Heldt House, this 1892 residence has an interesting history. The lot was part of the Peter J. Smith holdings, which ran from the river to the top of the mountain. There are more details in Terry Talley's book, "Gems of the Hudson."

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK